Books I read in 2016

For 2016 I wanted to read 15 books. I did really well. I read mainly series, here is my thoughts on them.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I feel I am slightly late to the bandwagon, but I finally read Harry Potter! I really enjoyed these books. Obviously the movies didn’t include all the details you would have wanted them to.After reading them all, I had a movie marathon. I sometimes wish they made the books into series rather than just movies.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After finishing the Harry Potter books, I wasn’t sure what to read. My cousin gave me this little paperback book called Krabat. Really random little book. I finished it, but it wasn’t a good read. It involved millers being taught spells of some sort and every year one of them dies and get replaced. It had somewhat of satanic undertones. It is apparently made into a movie, didn’t watch it though.

776555868d7f1c8cf73339fa7734aca6.jpg

My friend loaned me her Millennium series. It was a bit of a deeper read than the first books I read this year. I enjoyed the story. It kept me guessing. It took me quite a while to finish these three books. I did watch the movie long ago, pity they never made the other two into movies as well. The only part about these books that I didn’t like, were that all the woman falls for this one man. These woman are very different from each other and this guy is not that interesting. Other than that, I enjoyed the books.

Book-cover.jpg

While I was in a secondhand book store, I bought The Girl on the train. Since it was such a hyped about book. It was a quick read. It was just OK. Not amazing, I at least didn’t expect who the murderer was till the end. I also watched the movie this week. They kept it fairly based on the book, which is always a good thing to me.

Spud-books-full-series-20150704011501.jpg

The last series I read this year, was Spud. I am technically still busy with the last book (about 2/3 done). Back to a more lighthearted read. Written by a South African author. I watched the first movie a few years back when it came out. Luckily I couldn’t remember much. I plan on watching the movies when I am finally done with book number 4. The books are diary style and follows a boy’s school career in a all boy school. It plays off in the past when Mandela was released from prison and all the changes it brought to the country.

What books should I read this year? Hoping to reach that 15 book mark for 2017.

Mona – plan to read more

8 comments

  1. Ooh you read loads! Go you! Harry Potter is something I could read every year but have to stop myself haha, I’ve maybe read it around 5/6 times now. Glad to hear you enjoyed them. Do you think you’ll read The Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts screenplay? I bought them but haven’t brought myself to try them yet.

    xo

    Like

  2. The Harry Potters are some of the books I go back to time and time again – do you do audio books? The HP s are read by Stephen Fry and they’re lovely to have on in the background. I read the Millenium Trillogy a long time ago too and quite liked them but they were hard going. I’ve never heard of the Spud books but sounds like an interesting series! I can’t buy any new books until I’ve had a good go at the ones I haven’t read at home yet!
    Hope you find some good ones to read this year.
    M x

    Like

  3. Urgh Harry Potter… I just can’t. I’m sure I enjoyed them more when I was younger, but I don’t think I have ever loved them. I am finally on the last book of the series and then I can sell them and be rid of them forever. I’m glad you enjoyed them though 🙂

    I’m glad you also thought the The Girl On The Train wasn’t all that amazing. I just thought it was OK, nothing special, nothing too exciting. It’s not really my genre but still, I have read better thriller books.

    Any book plans for next year?

    I hope to write a little favourite books of 2016 post for the end of the month, so maybe you can get some ideas from there 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment