October things

October is now done and dusted. Halloween decor has disappeared and made way for christmas. Our shops are already playing jingles on a loop. Yes. This early. This month was fun, with a few firsts and lifestyle changes.

The company I work for signed us up for a mini medical aid. This includes all doctor visits and medication. I thought now would be a good time to go for a yearly check up. I’ve never gotten one of those. Everything came back as good and normal. Was quite proud of myself. We sometimes forget to check in with our health and only race to the doctor once more visible symptoms show. I will be returning next year to see that everything is on the up and up. I should also go for an eye exam again. It’s been a few years.

The lifestyle change mentioned earlier. I have decided to become vegetarian. I started buying meat replacements, lentils and chickpeas. It’s been going fine, but I was still consuming meat. I felt a bit disappointed that I could not live up to a title. Along came somebody and said it’s called flexitarian when you consume a mostly veg diet, but do occasionally eat meat. Being a silly human, I was happy to have a title again. I am however still striving to not eat meat.  Feel free to link me to some easy recipes as I am in the testing phase for new dinners.

Another first for me, was taking a yoga class. I originally wanted to go with a friend, since I don’t do things alone. We couldn’t get her schedule to work with the classes, so I decided to suck it up and go alone. Since it is something I have been wanting to do. To be honest, I enjoy the one to one class. I have signed up for classes every week now. I have also learned that my balance totally suck, but can  now work at bettering it. Typing up this post, I can still feel my arm muscles being slightly sore from my last class.  I cannot wait to be able to do the more difficult poses that require upper body strength.

As usual, I will end off this post with something I have watched that I enjoyed. I stumbled upon this channel on Youtube that is called You suck at cooking. He has funny ways of making actual food while making non food in an even funnier way. Here is the first video I watched.

 

Mona – getting flexiable

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

