Grab the popcorn!

Just a little over a month ago Netflix launched and I made a post saying I will be watching and “reviewing” movies that came out in the 2000’s. I haven’t watched a lot of movies since then, so I thought I would make one post about the last 3 I watched since then. They are however, not all from the 2000’s. 

Bad Boys 2 (2003)

f39164c83c132f3f332e334b46673c0f

Aaah, another Michael Bay movie. You can expect a lot of explosions for no reason. Bad Boys 2, and action comedy movie. The movie itself wasn’t that bad. Miami police investigates a flow of drugs coming into the city. I haven’t watched the first one, so I didn’t really have any ideas of what to expect other than, explosives of course. There is an added twist with Marcus’ sister being a double agent and also secretly seeing his partner, Mike. I enjoyed the daughters boyfriend picking her up for a date and Marcus and Mike harasses him at the door. He didn’t seem to fazed about it. The plot was interesting, of course the good guys win in the end. Nevertheless a good performance by Will and Martin. Hopefully Hollywood doesn’t try to squeeze out a third installment.

The Shining  (1980)

tumblr_lzz15vB8iR1qi4nyc

Now who would have thought I would watch a psychological horror  movie? Not me. I watched this one Friday night on a whim. I thought I would be scared senseless, but, I actually laughed. Especially at the end picture of Jack Nicholson sitting in the snow. In case you didn’t know, it’s based on Stephen King’s novel by the same name. I always wonder just how messed up Stephen’s daydreams must be, but that’s another post. This is about a writer who looks after a hotel during its off season. He becomes crazy and tries to kill his wife and son. The same happened to the care-taker 60 years prior. It ends with a photograph of a party at the hotel in 1921 where the protagonist, Jack, smiles at you. Impossible since he hasn’t aged a day, now being in 1980. Just a weird movie. Side note, if you watched it, how did the mom not hear the son say “Redrum” over and over next to her bed. Creepy.

Swingers (1996)

gl_swingers_f2

Seeing a young Vince Vaughn on the cover, I thought I was in for a good comedy movie. How wrong was I? It was slow paced and this whole movie could have been a 20 minute sitcom episode. His (Vaughn’s) friends girlfriend broke up with him 6 months ago and has not moved on. He takes him out to various (like 3) places to help him meet somebody new. He eventually meet a girl and surprise surprise his old girlfriend calls. He does make the right decision and decides to stay with the new girl. There was one “LOL” moment where he called a girl he met in a bar a bunch of times, leaving way too many voice messages. Other than that, not really (and he is suppose to be a comedian in the movie).Vince also says “baby” an obscene amount of times. I would have counted, but I’m not watching that movie again. If you do, please let me know how many times he says it.

 

Mona – where are all the good movies?

 

 

4 comments

    1. Me too, but I can assure you the movie wasn’t scary. There is some flashing scene where they show murdered girls, but not up close. I think reading it would make me think up a way worse movie in my head.

      Like

Leave a Reply

