The “Lost in a book” tag

I was nominated by Danielle to do this tag. You can check her answers and her blog out at Underland to Wonderland. I love reading. My reading time has taken a back seat for some years, but since 2015 I have made an active effort to read more. Here is my answers.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I usually read in or on my bed. I do wish I had a comfy chair as I change position so much while laying in bed reading. My arms usually gets tired, or my back sore from leaning forward.

Where do you like to read?

Anywhere really. I read in my car during my lunch break or while waiting for my husband to get off work. I do prefer home thou, as it’s more quiet and random people aren’t looking at me funny.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Random piece of paper. I don’t have a bookmark. I sometimes use the extra cover some books have, but if the book is really thick, it doesn’t work so well.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at a chapter?

I prefer stopping at the end of a chapter, but when I read during lunch breaks I don’t always get to finish up as I just have 30 mins. I sometimes find myself re- reading the last paragraph or two to catch up on what is happening.

Do you eat or drink whilst reading?

Yes and No. At home I usually have a cup of coffee with some cookies maybe. I put the book down while drinking as I don’t want to mess on it, so I’m not consuming while reading.

E-reader or real book?

I’ve never had an e-reader, so my answer would be a real book. I have read a book off the computer once and it hurt my eyes. Also, I like actually turning the pages and not just scrolling. I will stick with good old fashioned print.

Music or TV while reading?

When I’m by myself I wont put anything on, but when my husband is home he usually watches t.v while I read. I have grown use to noise and learned to focus and block that out.

One book at a time or several at once?

I’ve never attempted this. I think I would muddle up the stories. I would put in extra reading time to get through the book faster if I wanted to read another book.

Reading at home or everywhere?

See my previous answer, I can read anywhere. I just need to sit down and not have too much sunlight on me, or I will start to feel ill.

Reading aloud or silently in your head?

I always read silently. My throat would just get too dry if I were to read aloud. I also think my dogs would not leave me alone if I was just sitting there talking to myself.

Fiction or non-fiction?

I prefer fiction. Fantasy worlds like the Midlands (Sword of truth series) or Hogwarts (Harry Potter) is really fun to explore and learn about.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

What would be the point of reading at all then? Might as well just read the summary at the back and be done with it.

Break the spine or keep a book like new?

I try to keep my book looking like new. We have a lot of books that doesn’t look to hot anymore, since we borrow out a lot. As long as it looks decent, I don’t mine, a cracked spine just means the book is really good and deserved multiple reads. 🙂

Do you write in your books?

No, might ruin things for the next reader. I also don’t see the point, I would prefer keeping notes aside on  a separate sheet of paper.

Your favourite book?

I’m only reading Harry Potter for the first time now. (Shock, horror and gasps!) Should have read it long ago, but never had the hard copies to do so. Since I’m still busy this can’t be. Oddly, my favourite book would be Hotel New Hampshire by John Irving. I read it many years ago, but I keep remembering it. I read it as part of a list of “Books to read before you die”. It’s an odd little book that I definitely want to read again.

 

Anybody can feel free to do this tag. All book lovers welcome. Make sure to leave it in the comments for me to read.

Mona – keep passing the open windows

Leave a Reply

