DIY: T-shirt Yarn

I’m not the craftiest of people, but I thought I’d give DIY t-shirt yarn a go. I checked out a few tutorials from Pinterest before I raided my cupboard for an old shirt. Here’s how I did it:

Step 1

Step 1

Grab an old shirt and some fabric scissors and find a flat surface to lay the shirt out on.

Step 2

Step 2

Cut straight through under the sleeves as shown on the picture. Turn the shirt having the stitched sides be at the top and bottom. Then fold it over twice making sure you leave about 5cm space open at the top.

Step 3

Step 3

Cut the fabric into even strips. I do not have a steady hand and my strips were kind of wonky, but this was my first attempt, so I wasn’t too bothered.

Step 4

Step 4

Lay the shirt open, as show in the picture. You are now going to cut diagonally across the strips.

Result

You will now be left with a long strip of yarn! You can work your way through the whole strip pulling on it slightly as you go to let it twist naturally. My skew cutting did make for thin parts that broke when I pulled it. Next time I will make sure to cut straighter. All in all, I think it turned out pretty cool. I can’t wait to make something with my new yarn. Feel free to share any ideas.

Mona – getting crafty

 

 

Leave a Reply

