Being a Wife of a Gamer

Alpha! Charlie! Charlie! Who killed an ad?? These are normal phrases I hear shouted in my living room at 1 in the morning. It’s part of being a wife of gamer. My husband plays Destiny on the Playstation 4 religiously. This is a multi player online game, meaning that there is no quiet time. I always go to bed alone and get woken up at 2 am by a shuffling husband trying to get under the covers. I sometimes get woken up with shouts of excitement at some random event being completed. I am also an outsider to jokes and conversations as I only hear one side with him wearing headphones.

The Last of Us 2 is being made. There is a secret mission in Destiny. Fallout 4 gets released on the 10 Nov. Yes, I know these and other random gaming facts off the top of my head even thou I can’t aim and shoot to stay alive in a game. Of course gaming has rubbed off on me. I enjoy playing easier games like Little Big Planet or Theme Hospital. I recently finished Party Hard.Β It’s not all bad thou. We enjoy playing Tomb Raider online with our friends that moved away. I like that social aspect of gaming. He has also made new friends through his gaming. Β I get to catch up on my girly Youtube while he plays. I have a soft spot for animal compilations and can watch hours of it without being interrupted (or judged).

Going to the shopping mall always means a trip to the gaming store before clothes shopping can commence. We know the staff by name and they recognize us too. I am not complaining at all. I am an enabler. I bought him a Playstation 3 and helped him get a Playstation 4 on release date. I am just that kind of person. I don’t have to give a second thought about what to get him for his birthdays or x-mas as it is straight to the games store. Now that’s a plus point.

Just before it sounds like we hardly spend time together, he does take time off gaming to hang out with me. There is also weekly date nights were there is no gaming and just cuddles and chilling out together.

BeFunky Collage

Remember to join in sometimes! A little friendly competition is good.

Can any other girls relate? Do you also have a man in your life that can spend hours playing games or any other hobby?

Mona – a non gaming gamer

11 comments

  1. I nodded along to all of this!! You are lucky though that you don’t hear worse things that than as the man of this house gets pretty angry haha!
    I don’t mind though. I’d much rather he was on the sofa playing game than anywhere else. At least were under the same roof πŸ™‚

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is all so true, to top it off I met my husband on an online game haha and now he gets upset saying he thought I was more of a serious gamer and I don’t play games enough with him! But a girl has to watch her series and blog about beauty too you know πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, I can definitely relate to these things. I’m a wife of a gamer (and I blog about it too) and I often wonder what I will do with all the random gaming facts I have picked up over the years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

