Book review: Girl Online – Zoe Sugg

It is one of my new years resolutions to read 5 books before the end of the year. I know that is not a lot, but I thought I would set an easy goal to accomplish instead of setting the bar too high and failing. Then I started reading in my lunch break and realized that I could easily read 10 books before the end of the year. I thought I should maybe do a little review on the books I read this year. I am currently  on book number 3, the Omen machine by Terry Goodkind. My first book was 50 Shades of Grey. Yes, I was really slow to get on  the bandwagon. I will just start writing about my second book as the first one was quite a while back. I also have no set genre as these three books are all worlds apart.

Girl Online was an easy read. It is about a British blogger named Penny who writes about her experiences on her blog page under the alias Girl online. She is generally a klutz and has bad luck in the love department. She suffers from anxiety attacks. She has a frenemy named Megan who was her childhood friend, but as they grew older they have grown apart. She has an embarrassing  incident at the school concert which gets filmed and put online. To get away from it all, she goes on a family vacation to New York and meet an amazing, dream guy while she is there. His name is Noah. She blogs about him under the alias Brooklyn Boy. He is actually an emerging artist who just signed a big record deal. Penny does not know this, and he also doesn’t tell her. This leads to some gossip page news which she discovers on her return to the UK. This leads to more drama for her as he had a girlfriend according to the gossip sites. She gets bad mouthed by the online community for dating him.  Which is all just a big miscommunication. In the end she takes from her experiences, find out who her real friends are and stand up to Megan. She takes the good from the experience and grows from it. Noah comes to the UK to apologise, they talk it through and reconcile.

This is the extremely rough premise of the story. The characters are likeable. She gave an inspiring message for people who suffer from anxiety attacks as well as good advice on how to deal with an attack. My favourite quote from the book is: Every time you post something online, you have a choice.
You can either make it something that adds to the happiness levels in the world—or you can make it something that takes away.”

The book did have a teenage feel to it. A little love story of teenagers. A bit unrealistic, but still believable enough. It also had the played out plot line of characters who don’t communicate and have a big fallout and reconcile in the end. With that said I still enjoyed it.

Mona – bookworm

2 comments

Leave a Reply

